Bengal’s Pride Award


Nominations for The Bengal’s Pride Awards are now open
The Bengal’s Pride Awards, in its second year, recognise Bengalis and Bangladeshis globally for their achievement in different walks of life. The awards recognise and honour Bengalis or those with roots in Bengal, settled across the world, as key role models in business, politics, public services, art, philanthropy and from many other sectors. The event is attended by creme de la creme of the community as well as MPs, Peers, local politicians and top industry leaders.
Hosted by the Asian Business Publications Limited, publisher of the Asian Voice newsweekly, recipients at the inaugural awards on 6 June 2018 in the House of Commons, included Noble laureate Dr. Amartya Sen, who was conferred the Lifetime Achievement Award, while the newly appointed counter-terrorism chief of Scotland Yard, Neil Basu, won an award for his contribution to Public Services. Dr. Pronnoy Roy of NDTV won the Media Person of the Year award while renowned singer Sahana Bajpaie was honoured in the field of Contribution to Art & Culture.
Not just Bengalis, winners on the night also included key personalities who work closely with the community, especially in the UK, West Bengal and Bangladesh such as Dr. Prathap Reddy, who won the award for his commendable contributions in Health & Social Care in Bengal.
Chief Guest for the evening was Sir Malcolm Grant CBE, the Chairman NHS England and the event was hosted for the evening by Sir David Amess MP. Prime Minister Theresa May sent an exclusive message to the winners, saying, “It is important to recognise the achievements of the Bengali community, and honour those who are key role models in business, politics, public services, art, philanthropy and across many other sectors. The Bengali community should be proud of what they have achieved over the years. The breadth of the awards being celebrated today is a testament to the positive impact the group has had, both here in the UK and across the world.”
The next Bengal’s Pride Awards will be held on 20th June 2019 at the Houses of Parliament. Nominations are open now. The deadline for nomination is 26th April 2019. To download the nomination form or learn more about the awards visit


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *